650Rider, xs650 hosted by XS650.com

What Happened to 650rider.com?

650 Rider went offline for about a month at the beginning of 2010. In order to save the technical information that was here, XS650.com acquired the site and brought it back online as a read-only archive. If you were a member of 650 Rider, you will need to re-register at XS650.com

Search 650Rider.com and XS650.com using Google!

650Rider Menu
 Community  Information

xs650 > > Motorcycle Systems > > Fuel > > Idling Problem

Idling Problem
    Forum Index -> Fuel
heckienawjoe

PostPosted: July 20, 2009, 10:52 am    Post subject: Idling Problem

Hey guys, I am a noob so if this is answered somewhere else (I didnt see anything similar when I looked around) please direct me to it.

So I am having this issue with my 81 where it will start but idles really low (a little below 1000) and will die without some throttle (sometimes the throttle will actually just kill it, i dunno why the discrepancy) with no choke, but with half choke it idles at around 3000-4000rpm. I have to ride it with half choke all the time (even after it has warmed up a lot) or else it will stall at stop signs if I dont keep the throttle open a little.

I am also sometimes getting exhaust popping noises, but I don't know if it is related to this problem. Could this be because the fuel mix is too lean? And, if I richen the fuel mixture and need to choke at all, won't the rpms be outrageously high? Thanks for your help!
xsjohn

PostPosted: July 20, 2009, 10:55 am    Post subject: Re: Idling Problem

Would think the Carbs need cleaning.......especially the pilot circuit.....then adjusting the mix screws maybe....xsjohn
Photo Gallery
pamcopete
650Rider Supporter
650Rider Supporter

PostPosted: July 20, 2009, 11:07 am    Post subject: Re: Idling Problem

hekienawjoe,

Well, forgive me for asking this question, but did you try to just increase the idle speed with the idle screw on the left side carb?